A brief guide to Maryland handgun qualification license (HQL)

Original Source:-https://www.klusster.com/portfolios/ptpgunmedia/contents/99741?code=5c8f6731-6be6-4802-90f9-222f78ae73bf&share_content=true

Legal purchasing of a handgun requires a license from the state police licensing division which is issued by the Secretary to purchase, receive or rent a handgun. A person does not need a handgun qualification license for a gun they already has. This license is valid for 10 years and can be renewed subsequently prior 90 days of the expiration date. How long does it take to get a Maryland Handgun Qualification License? Completed application for this license takes about 2 to 4 weeks, and after that the applicant receives the license via mail within 7 to 10 business days. The application process is relatively simple and mostly depends on the background checks and documentation.

Applying for the HQL

One can apply for the handgun qualification license online through MyLicense. The law requires the submission of livescan finger print to confirm the background checks along with valid documentation. Within 3 years of application, the applicant must demonstrate a satisfactory completion of firearms safety training, which must be supervised by a qualified handgun instructor and should include state firearm laws, home firearm safety, basic handgun mechanism and operation and operation and handling demonstration. ALL HQL applicants approved on or after January 1st, 2021 shall receive a notification via email that their application has been reviewed or approved. An electronic copy of handgun qualification license will be attached to the email, which must be printed and presented to the firearms dealer or any other person prior to selling, renting or transferring a handgun.

Exceptions

The HQL is required for legal purchase, rent or receiving a firearm, but there are exceptions to the ownership of HQL permit. A legalized gun manufacturer, active or retired law enforcement officers in good terms with respective agencies, active or retired members of United States Armed Forces or National Guard who possess a valid military identification card, person purchasing or renting an antique or relic firearm, and of course the Maryland licensed firearm dealers are not required to have a HQL. Someone who has a firearm safety training certificate approved Maryland state police, or someone who has attended a course of instruction in the competency and safety of firearms, qualified handgun instructors, honorable discharged members of the United States Armed Forces or National Guard, employee of a company in cash transport business with a handgun permit or the person who legally owns a firearm does not need to attend the course to apply for the handgun qualification license.

Gun Training Maryland PTPGun

Comments are closed