Belarus is country of Europe located in east Europe

Official Name: Republic of Belarus
Capital: Minsk
Total area: 207 595 km2
GDP per capita: $15,633
Native Language: Belarusian, Russian
Government: Unitary presidential republic
Population: 9,457,500
Major Religion: Eastern Orthodox Christianity
Monetary Unit: Belarusian ruble (BYR)

Belarus, officially the Republic of Belarus, is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe bordered by Russia to the northeast, Ukraine to the south, Poland to the west, and Lithuania and Latvia to the northwest. The capital is Minsk; Other large cities are Brest, Hrodna (Grodno), Homiel (Gomel), Mahilyow (Mogilev) and Vitsebsk (Vitebsk). Over forty percent of the 207,600 square kilometers are forested, and the strongest sectors of the economy are the service and manufacturing sectors.

Most of the Belarusian economy remains state controlled and has been described as Soviet. 51.2% of Belarusians are employed in state-controlled companies, 47.4% in private companies (of which 5.7% are partly foreign-owned) and 1.4% in foreign companies. The country relies on Russia for various imports, including petroleum. Important agricultural products are potatoes and cattle by-products, including meat. The main exports of Belarus in 1994 included heavy machinery (especially tractors), agricultural products and energy products.


Comments are closed