How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account?

You might end up regretting the fact that you deleted your very own Facebook account because of some silly reason. So, to let you undo a bad decision, Facebook provides a deactivation option. Deactivation of a Facebook account means it will look as though it has been deleted, as all the content will disappear from the public site.

The main difference between deleting your Facebook account and deactivating it is the reversibility. If in case, you wake up and feel that you want to return to the platform, you can reactivate it. This will restore all your friends, posts, and pictures. Another difference between deleting and deactivating your account is that your Messenger account will remain active if you go with the latter option. So, you will have to deactivate your messenger account separately if you want to.

Below are the instructions to deactivate your account using new Facebook:

Step 1: Log in to your Facebook account.

Step 2: Tap on the arrow at the top right.

Step 3: Go to Settings & privacy.

Step 4: Select Settings.

Step 5: Open Your Facebook Information from the left menu.

Step 6: Tap on Deactivation and Deletion.

Step 7: Choose Deactivate Account, then Continue to Account Deactivation.

Instructions to deactivate your account using Classic Facebook:

Step 1: Log in to your Facebook account.

Step 2: Tap on the arrow at the top right, then click Settings.

Step 3: Open Your Facebook Information from the left menu.

Step 4: Select Deactivation and Deletion.

Step 5: Choose Deactivate Account, then Continue to Account Deactivation.

Your profile will disappear from Facebook, however, some of your activities, like a post on a friend’s wall will remain visible to other users. Your name will still appear in your existing friends’ list. People send you messages via Messenger.

Whenever you want to reactivate your account, simply log in on any device.

How to Permanently Delete Facebook Account?

Have you had enough of the platform and have reached a firm decision to delete it? Well, we will guide you through the process. Just a gentle reminder: Once you hit the delete button, there is no coming back. More so, you don’t have to delete the messenger separately, both your Facebook and Messenger accounts will be deleted together.

If you still stand with your decision to delete the account, below is how you can do so using the new Facebook:

Step 1: Log in to your Facebook account.

Step 2: Tap on the arrow at the top right.

Step 3: Select Settings & privacy.

Step 4: Open Settings.

Step 5: Tap on Your Facebook Information.

Step 6: Choose Deactivation and Deletion.

Step 7: Select Permanently Delete Account, and then Continue to Account Deletion.

Step 8: Tap on the Delete Account, enter your password and then hit Continue.

How to delete Facebook account using Classic Facebook:

Step 1: Log in to your Facebook account.

Step 2: Tap on the arrow at the top right, and then select Settings.

Step 3: Open Your Facebook Information.

Step 4: Tap on Deactivation and Deletion.

Step 5: Choose Delete Account, and then Continue to Account Deletion.

Step 6: Enter your password, then select Continue, and hit Delete Account.

Facebook gives you the option to recover your account within 30 days of deleting. To do so, you will have to log into your account and click Cancel Deletion. Else, your information will be discarded from Facebook within 90 days and you will be left with zero options to recover it again.

Elina John is a self-professed security expert; she has been making the people aware of the security threats. Her passion is to write about Cyber security, cryptography, malware, social engineering, internet and new media. She writes for norton security products at norton.com/setup.

Source : How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account?

Comments are closed