Stars in Vedic Astrology: Meaning and Importance

If the sun sign and the moon sign are important in astrological readings, the birth star in Vedic astrology is equally significant. Your birth star is an effective tool to ascertain good and bad times that lies ahead in the future. Moreover, a birth star is used to determine the gemstones, colors, lucky numbers, etc., of an individual. There are 27 birth stars (together, they are called Nakshatra) that combine to constitute 12 constellations of the zodiac.

Online Astrology

Let’s find out more about the stars and their importance in astrology. 

History of stars in astrology 

Ancient astrology considered every heavenly body as stars, be it the planets, comets, or meteors. For ease of calculation, these celestial objects were divided into fixed stars and moving stars. The Sun was considered a fixed star, while the Moon and other planets were considered moving stars. But in today’s astrology, this concept holds no validity.  

In the Vedic (Hindu) astrology, which dates back to more than 5000 years ago, it is the 27 Nakshatra (constellations) and not the 12 zodiac signs that are key to understanding the influences of the cosmic bodies. Vedic astrology is deeply rooted in the calculations of the Moon Nakshatra at the time of a person’s birth. 


The meaning of Nakshatra

The term Nakshatra can be divided into two parts – “Naks”, which means “sky”, and “kshetra”, meaning “region”. So basically, Nakshatra translates to “Sky Map”. Another meaning of the word Nakshatra is “Naksha”, meaning “map”, and “tara”, meaning “star”, translating into “star map”. 


Stars and Their Degrees

The 27 Nakshatra or constellations consist of 13 degrees and 20 minutes of the zodiac. They also are referred to as lunar mansions. When the length is multiplied by 27, the Nakshatras equals the entire zodiacal belt of 360 degrees. Remember, each of the 12 zodiac signs is positioned at a 30-degree angle to the earth, which appears in the sky like a zodiac band. Each Nakshatra has four subdivisions known as Padas, and each pada is at a quarter of 3 degrees and 20 minutes. Furthermore, the Nakshatras and zodiac signs start from the same point. The first Nakshatra that is Ashwini begins from the same point where the first sign of the zodiac sign Aries starts. 


Here’s the list of the 27 Nakshatras in Vedic astrology

  1. Ashwini 2. Bharani 3. Kritika 4. Rohini 5. Mrigasira 6. Arudra 7. Punarvasu 8. Pushya 9. Ashlesha 10. Makha 11. Purva Phalguni 12. Uttara Phalguni 13. Hastha 14. Chitra 15. Swati 16. Vishakha 17. Anuradha 18. Jyestha 19. Moola 20. Poorva Asadha 21. Uttar Asadha 22. Shravan 23. Dhanishta 24. Shatabhisha 25. Purva Bhadra 26. Uttar Bhadra 27. Revathi


Moreover, these stars are divided into three parts – Dev (God), Manushya (Human), and Rakshasa (Demon). Also, these stars or Nakshatras are governed by a planet.  

To know more about which star influences your birth chart, you can browse through reliable and genuine astrology apps such as Astroyogi, where you can consult the best astrologers. Astroyogi’s best astrology app is a trusted platform to get all your astrology-related questions answered.


Importance of the Stars in Astrology

  • Each sign in a birth chart consists of the combined influence of the Nakshatras falling with it. The Nakshatras have a deeper effect on humans as compared to zodiac signs. 
  • Vedic astrologers believe that Nakshatras are the storehouse of the fruits of your karma. These Nakshatras give the fruits of your karma at the right time. 
  • In Vedic astrology, more than the sun sign, it is the birth star or Nakshatra of the Moon that forms the basis of calculating a person’s personality traits. 
  • Nakshatras influence our mind every day because the Moon transits through one constellation of the zodiac every day over a month. Hence, they have a significant impact on us.  
  • Based on a person’s Nakshatra at the time of their birth, a Vedic astrologer can make a powerful prediction compared to other forms of astrology.
  • The Nakshatra consists of basic attributes, including primary motivation – Kama (sensual desires), Artha (material desires), Dharma (life that is based on spiritual principles), Moksha (liberation from birth and death), sex, caste, species, and so on. These are represented by their ruling planets, ruling deities, and their symbolic form.

Nakshatra is a complex component of Vedic astrology, which requires in-depth knowledge to decode its meanings. When you have questions related to stars in Vedic astrology and want a deeper understanding of how the Nakshatras influence your life, consult an accomplished Vedic astrologer on Astroyogi’s astrology app. If questions such as will my astrologer on this app give me the proper guidance that I need, you don’t have to worry. Rest assured, Astroyogi provides an authentic, trustworthy, and personalised consultation experience to its users.

Comments are closed