The 3 Habits That Grew His Business to 428,000 Email Subscribers (FS288)

How can we live better lives? Do you want to implement great habits in order to achieve your goals? What determines the success of our attempts when trying to form habits?

We cannot really have a conversation about successful business owners and entrepreneurs without discussing the importance of habits and the systems that allow them to build their dreams. But what is formula to implementing this?

In this episode we get down to the real essence of habits, their relationship to individual and social identity and how they are formed. We unpack these ideas to better understand the cycle of improvement that we all should really be trying to embody.

Today on the show we are joined by James Clear, the author of Atomic Habits, the creator of the Habits Academy, a weightlifter, and a travel photographer in over 30 countries. James is basically a habit expert and has loads of great ways to unpack these ideas for everyone’s benefit

We also talk about the concept of one percent better, the explore-exploit tradeoff, adaptability and reinvention. James has a bunch of really useful frameworks and distinctions that will undoubtedly progress your thinking in this area.

For a particularly inspiring and thought provoking conversation be sure to check this episode out!

Subscribe (how to)  
iTunes  
Overcast  
Pocket Casts  
Stitcher  
Google Play  
RSS  


Key Points From This Episode:

  • Understanding the compounding effect of the one percent better concept. [0:05:12.4]
  • Decision making and habits as the two pillars of success. [0:10:01.2]
  • The difference between goals and systems. [0:15:36.3]
  • The cardinal rule of behavior change and waiting for results. [0:20:28.4]
  • Identity conflicts making changes stick through your beliefs about self. [0:26:30.3]
  • Adaptability and the potential to reinvent yourself. [0:33:25.1]
  • Some of James’ systems that he has used to build his site. [0:35:20.8]
  • The real value of ideas and how to house them effectively. [0:39:00.4]
  • James’ most valued habits for his health and business. [0:40:47.6]
  • Atomic Habits and what James hopes its readers will gain. [0:46:05.3]
  • The evolution of systems and the importance of reflection and review. [0:50:31.6]
  • And much more!

Links Mentioned in Today’s Episode:

  • Fizzle — https://fizzle.co/
  • James Clear — https://jamesclear.com/
  • Atomic Habits — https://www.amazon.com/Atomic-Habits-Proven-Build-Break/dp/0735211299
  • Mitch Horowitz — https://mitchhorowitz.com/
  • Elon Musk — https://www.forbes.com/profile/elon-musk/#2ba127667999
  • Gary Vaynerchuk — https://www.garyvaynerchuk.com/
  • Seth Godin — https://www.sethgodin.com/
  • Entrepreneur — https://www.entrepreneur.com/
  • TIME — http://time.com/
  • New York Times — https://www.nytimes.com/
  • CBS — https://www.cbs.com/
  • Derek Sivers — https://sivers.org/
  • Scott Adams — https://www.linkedin.com/in/scott-adams-52b1595a
  • Dilbert — http://dilbert.com/
  • Evernote — https://evernote.com/
  • Why Facts Don’t Change Our Minds — https://jamesclear.com/why-facts-dont-change-minds
  • Niall Ferguson — http://www.niallferguson.com/
  • Slack — https://slack.com/
  • Fizzle Essentials of Web Design Course — https://fizzle.co/library/essentials-of-website-design-for-business-builders
  • Fizzle Website Tune Up Curse — https://fizzle.co/courses/tuneup
  • Fizzle Roadmap — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/small-business-roadmap-1-clarity
  • Courage and Clarity — https://www.courageandclarity.com/
  • Corbett Barr on Twitter — https://twitter.com/CorbettBarr
  • Chase Reeves on Twitter — https://twitter.com/chase_reeves
  • Start A Blog That Matters Course — https://fizzle.co/start-a-blog-that-matters
  • Fizzle 80/20 Copywriting Guide — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/writing-copy-for-web
  • Fizzle Toolkit — https://fizzle.co/toolkit
  • Fizzle Goals Course — https://fizzle.co/courses/goals
  • Fizzle Journaling Course — https://fizzle.co/courses/journal
  • Fizzle Craft + Commerce — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/craft-commerce
  • Fizzle Project Management for Entrepreneurs — https://fizzle.co/sparkline/project-management-for-entrepreneurs
  • Fizzle Try 5 — http://fizzle.co/try5
  • Fizzle Hosting — https://fizzle.co/hosting


Fizzle

Comments are closed