Top 3 AFL locations

The Australian Football League is a professional game of Australian Rules football its serves as a governing body through AFL commission and is responsible for the laws of the game. In 1897 Victorian Football Association inaugurated the league Victorian Football League (VFL) which consists of team based in the Australian state of Victoria. In 1990s the VFL name of the sports was changed to Australian Football League with expanding to other states of Australia. These are the top 3 Australian Football League locations where most of the matches have been held.

1. Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

‘The G’ is another name of Australian sports stadium ‘Melbourne Cricket Ground’ located in Yarra Park, Melbourne, Victoria. It is the largest stadium in Australia, 10thlargest stadium in the world, as well as the largest cricket ground in the Southern Hemisphere by its capacity. It is designed with the highest light towers than any other sports venue. You can reach within a walking distance of the city center, the route 70 tram or 246 bus approach to the stadium.

The stadium has been continued to upgrade since it was built in 1853, it served as

Centerpiece stadium of 1956 Summer Olympics

Commonwealth Games of 2006

1992 and 2015’s two Cricket World Cups

It contributed to the development of international cricket

Venue for First Test Match 1877 between England and Australia

Venue for first One Day 1971 between Australia and England

It held annual Boxing Day Test several times

It hosts AFL matches in winter with one game and often fills the ground to the capacity in AFL Grand Final.

2. Perth Stadium/Optus Stadium

Perth Stadium is also known as Optus Stadium it is a multi-purpose stadium located in the suburb of Burswood. This is recently completed in 2017 and was opened in 2018 officially on 21 January 2018 with the capacity of 60,000 people making it 3rd largest stadium in Australia and can be exceeded to more 5,000 seats.

The two AFL’s teams, the Fremantle Football Club and the West Coast Eagles shifted to the Perth stadium from their home games Subiaco Oval. The Scorchers used to play their Big Bash League game in the WACA Ground moved to Perth Stadium. The stadium is multiplex so it received proposals from the Subiaco and East Perth in June 2011.

3. Docklands Stadium/ Marvel Stadium

Dockland stadium is also known as Marvel Stadium with the naming sponsorship for multi-purpose sports and entertainment stadium located in Melbourne. It was started building in October 1997 with the name “Victoria Stadium and was completed in 3 years with a cost of $460 million. It was built on Waverley Park and was primarily used for the headquarters of AFL so the AFL had exclusive ownership of the venue on 7 October 2016. They administered Seven Network’s digital broadcast center in-stadium zone.

The Dockland stadium hosts many sports events including Melbourne Victory Soccer home matches, Domestic Twenty 20 cricket matches, Rugby Union matches, One-off Rugby league and also other occasional events and concerts.

Authors Bio

Hudson Drew is a fun, adventure loving and professional blogger who loves to point out the history behind the traditions that we respect today. He now works with the Ticket Merchants to help people like you to find the best west coast tickets.

Comments are closed