What are the List of 34 Competency Categories in APEGS CBA Competency Report?

Before obtaining a license, an engineering applicant must demonstrate their ability to practice engineering. It is incumbent upon the applicant to provide evidence, through experience, of a satisfactory ability to practice engineering at a professional level. Many Canadian engineering regulators have implemented or are proceeding with a competency-based assessment of engineering experience. To this end, a multi-year, Pan-Canadian competency-based assessment project was initiated with the participation of engineering regulators in several provinces. In the current phase of the project, an online qualification assessment system developed by engineers and geologists from British Columbia (BC) is being adapted for use by other regulators in Canada.

Description of the Competency-Based Assessment Framework

The seven categories represent areas in which professional engineers from all disciplines must be competent to ensure effective practice and public safety. Each qualification category contains a list of key competencies required in that area. Complete details are included in the Competitive Evaluation Guide.

The Competency Framework consists of seven Competency Categories, which are groupings of competencies or skills.

  1. Technical Competencies (10)
  2. Demonstrate knowledge of regulations, codes, standards, and safety – this includes local engineering procedures and practices as applicable.
  3. Demonstrate knowledge of materials, or operations as appropriate, project and design constraints, design to best fit the purpose or service intended and address inter-disciplinary impacts.
  4. Analyze technical risks and offer solutions to mitigate the risks.
  5. Apply engineering knowledge to design solutions
  6. Be able to understand solution techniques and independently verify the results.
  7. Safety awareness: be aware of safety risks inherent in the design; and Demonstrate Safety Awareness – on-site and possible safety authorization/certificate as appropriate.
  8. Demonstrate understanding of systems as well as of components of systems
  9. Exposure to all stages of the process/project life cycle from concept and feasibility analysis through implementation.
  10. Understand the concept of quality control during design and construction including independent design check and in CBA competency report reviews of design, field checks and reviews.
  11. Transfer design intentions to drawings and sketches; Understand transmittal of design information to design documents.
  12. Communication (3)
  13. Oral Communication.
  14. In Writing.
  15. Reading and Comprehensive.
  16. Project and Financial Management (5)
  17. Awareness of project management principles.
  18. Demonstrate increasing level of responsibility for project planning and implementation.
  19. Manage expectations in lights of available resources
  20. Understand the financial aspects of their work
  21. Ask for and demonstrate response to feedback.
  22. Team Effectiveness (2)
  23. Work respectfully and with other disciplines/people.
  24. Work to resolves differences.
  25. Professional Accountability (6)
  26. Work with integrity, ethically and within professional standards.
  27. Demonstrate an awareness of your own scope of practice and limitations.
  28. Understand how conflict of interest affects your practice.
  29. Demonstrate awareness of professional accountability.
  30. Demonstrate an understanding of appropriate use of the stamp and seal.
  31. Understand own strengths/weaknesses and know how they apply to one’s position.
  32. Social, Economic, Environmental and Sustainability (5 competencies)
  33. Demonstrate an understanding of the safeguards required to protect the public and the methods of mitigating adverse impacts.
  34. Demonstrate an understanding of the relationship between the engineering activity and the public.
  35. Understand the role of regulatory bodies on the practice of engineering.
  36. Be aware of any specific sustainability clauses that have been added to practice guidelines that apply to their area.
  37. To the extent possible, recognizing the applicant’s position of influence, consider how sustainability principles could be applied and promoted in his/her specific work.
  38. Personal Continuing Professional Development (3 competencies)
  39. Demonstrate completion of professional development activities.
  40. Demonstrate awareness of gaps in knowledge and areas requiring future development.
  41. Develop a professional development plan to address gaps in knowledge and maintain currency in field of practice.

These categories define the areas of work that guarantee the public and private safety of professional engineers. Each competency category in that area requires core competencies. Competition evaluation guide’s retail documents are given above.

The Competency Rating Scale is used to determine the achievement level of candidates from 0–5. It is the responsibility of the candidates to address each of the competencies.

Visit: https://globalimmigrationhelp.com

Comments are closed